District Administration

District Collectorate

The Collectorate play a pivotal role in the District administration. Collector in the Cadre of I.A.S heads the District. He/She acts as the District Magistrate for maintaining Law and Order in his/her jurisdiction. He/She deals mainly with planning and development, law and order, general elections, arms licensing etc.The Additional Collector/ District Revenue Officer runs the Revenue administration under various enactments in the District. He/She is also designated as Additional District Magistrate. He mainly deals with civil supplies, land matters, mines and minerals, village officers etc.

The District Revenue Officer (DRO) and Deputy Collectors assists the Collector in discharging their duties. The District Revenue Officer looks after all the branches of the Collectorate. The DRO  deals mainly with general administration and is vested with supervision of day-to-day functions of the Collectorate.

The Project Director, District Rural Development Agency in the cadres of IAS/DRO , Personal Assistant Panchayat Development in the cadre of Deputy Collector, Municipal commissioners & Executive Officers of Town Panchayats are assisting the collector in panchayat development and urban local body related works.

Revenue Administration
S. No. Section Name Nature of Work
1 A Establishment – Matters relating to Revenue Department Staff,Disciplinary Cases, etc.
2 B Encroachment, Lease, Assignment, Alienation, Land Transfer,Urban Land Tax, Collection and Appeal, Patta Transfer Appeal, Meeting Particulars and Periodical of Land Matters – Ponneri Division
3 D Copy application, Buildings, Records Maintenance,Freedom Fighters Details, Verification of Birth and Death Certificates, Legal heir certificate,R.R.Act, Gazette Publication, Notice Board Publication, Maintenance of Library and Miscellaneous.
4 F Land Acquisition of Sipcot, Metro water Master Plan Complex schemes, General Fixation of land value, TANPID, Krishna Water, Chennai city water ways schemes – land acquisition, CMDA, Tamil Nadu Housing Board, MRL, Petrochem park, SIDCO, National Highways, Reconciliation work & T.A, Bills of L.A.O’s
5 G Refugees – Shifting of camp, Camp Registration, Exit Permit, Camp Amenities
6 J Adi Dravidar and Tribal Welfare
7 M Magisterial, Law and Order, Cinemas, Arms Act, Foreigners, Goondas as Act.
8 N Land Matters, Waste Land Development Schemes – Tiruvallur and Tiruttani Divisions
9 S Public Distribution System and Civil Supplies related matters
10 T Collectorate Staff Establishment
11 U Natural Calamities,Evacuated Property Act Probate, Unclaimed properties, sulphur, Census, Fire Accident, Press Registration Act, Papuer Suit, Pawn Brokers and Money Lenders Act, Court Fee,TNPSC Exam and etc
12 V Prohibition and Excise and TASMAC related matters
13 W Backward class Minorities welfare
14 X VIP Visit,Public Grievances, OAP Schemes, ARS, DRS, C.M Relief Fund, Sidha, Heart Surgery,Mass Contact Programme, Grievance Day Petition, MLA, M.P, Minister and Assembly Petition, C.M.Cell
15 Survey Survey and Land Records Related Matters
Rural Development and Panchayat Raj
S.No. Officer Designation and Office Name Nature of Work
1 PD (DRDA) Rural Development and Panchayat Raj
2 PO (TNSRLM) Mahalir Thittam
3 PA (PD) Panchayats Development
4 AD (P) Panchayats Related Activities
5 AD (Audit) Audit and High Level committe
6 PA (NMP) School Noon Meals Related Activites

District Administrative Units

District Administration English

Revenue Administrative Structure

Revenue Administrative Structure

Parliament Constituencies (1+3 Part)

  1. Tiruvallur
  2. Chennai North (Part)
  3. Sriperumbudhur (Part)
  4. Arakkonam (Part)

Assembly Constituencies (10)

  1. Gummidipoondi
  2. Ponneri
  3. Tiruttani
  4. Tiruvallur
  5. Poonamallee
  6. Avadi
  7. Maduravoyal
  8. Ambattur
  9. Madhavaram
  10. Thiruvottiyur
Revenue Divisions (3)
Sl. No. Name of the Division No. of Taluks
1 Ponneri 2
2 Tiruvallur 4
3 Tiruttani 2


Revenue Taluks (8) & Revenue Villages (792)
Division Name Taluk Name No. of Firkas No. of
Revenue Villages
Ponneri Ponneri 8 200  (PDF 70 KB)
Gummidipoondi 4 88  (PDF 58 KB)
Tiruvallur Tiruvallur 9 168  (PDF 74 KB)
Poonamallee 4 48  (PDF 54 KB)
Uthukottai 5 100  (PDF 64 KB)
Avadi 5 31  (PDF 50 KB)
Tiruttani Tiruttani 6 87 (PDF 60 KB)
Pallipet 5 70  (PDF 67 KB)


Panchayat Unions (14) & Village Panchayats (526)
Sl. No. Panchayat Union Name No. of Village
1 Ellapuram  53  (PDF 58 KB)
2 Gummidipoondi  61  (PDF 61 KB)
3 Kadambathur  43  (PDF 43 KB)
4 Minjur  55  (PDF 55 KB)
5 Pallipet  33  (PDF 33 KB)
6 Poonamallee  28  (PDF 28 KB)
7 Poondi  49  (PDF 49 KB)
8 Puzhal  7  (PDF 45 KB)
9 R.K.Pet  38  (PDF 38 KB)
10 Sholavaram  39  (PDF 39 KB)
11 Thiruvalangadu  42  (PDF 42 KB)
12 Tiruttani  27  (PDF 27 KB)
13 Tiruvallur  38  (PDF 38 KB)
14 Villivakkam  13  (PDF 46 KB)


Municipalities (5) & Wards (135)
Sl. No. Municipality Name No. of Wards
1 Avadi 48
2 Poonamallee 21
3 Tiruvallur 27
4 Tiruttani 21
5 Thiruverkadu 18


Town Panchayats (10) & Wards (165)
Sl. No. Town Panchayat Name No. of Wards
1 Arani  15
2 Gummidipoondi  15
3 Minjur  18
4 Naravarikuppam  18
5 Pothatturpettai  18
6 Ponneri  18
7 Pallipet  15
8 Thirunindravur  18
9 Thirumazhisai  15
10 Uthukottai  15