Youth Welfare and Sports Development Department

(Button) Back to Places of Interest Back to Departments

Youth Clubs

The Government, through the Youth Welfare and Sports Development Department ordered to establish 10 Youth Clubs in each District.

Accordingly, the District Collector, Tiruvallur convened meting on 16.7.2002 and instructed to take up action to form 10 Youth Clubs except in the Panchayat Union like Villivakkam and Poonamallee which are adjacent to the cited.

It was also suggested that the Youth Clubs could be formed in the places where Nehru Yuvak Kendra Clubs are functioning extremely well and where play field are available.

Based on the recommendation of the Block Development Officers, Youth Clubs were formed in the following Panchayat Unions:

  1. Thiruvalangadu
  2. Sholavaram
  3. Ellapuram
  4. Minjur
  5. Kadampathur
  6. Tiruttani
  7. Gummidipoondi
  8. R.K. Pet
  9. Pallipet
  10. Tiruvallur

Now action has been taken to purchase sports materials at a cost of Rs.2,500/- to each youth club. The materials will be purchased and issued in the first fortnight of December, 2002.